Read reviews about our Greek ferry services

This section proposes reviews about our ferry services.
If you wish to express your feelings about our Greek ferries services, please Write a review.
This section is not about commenting companies or ships, just our services. Please check the companies section for rating and commenting companies & ships.

In order to verify your comment, the Booking Reference Number is requested.

FerriesInGreece is ranked 4/5 based on 597 users reviews and comments (597 ratings).
Write your review
website
Easy and Convenient
starstarstarstarstar
5 / 5 stars

on: 16-10-2017

The booking process is easy especially when trying to book multiple 'island hopping' tickets with different ferry companies. It's very easy to book and pay online and then all you have to do is take your booking confirmation to the ticket office at the port before you board (maybe 30-45 mins) to collect your tickets. When looking at the different ferry company's individual websites the prices were more expensive so this site was easier to use and cheaper. The only criticism I have is that when we collected our tickets for our first ferry trip we were not seated together even though there were many empty seats. Luckily because of that we just sat next to each other anyway but I don't understand why when booking 2 tickets they would sit you separately when there were plenty of empty seats together. Other than that the ferries were pretty comfortable and ran pretty close to on time.

Answer by Ferriesingreece.com
Thank you for your kind feedback.
We are really happy to hear that you found our online booking form easy. Concerning the seating on your first trip, as we can see in the booking system your seats were 3L and 3J so they should be really close to each other. Kindly note that consequent seats are always given automatically from the booking system to the passengers of the same booking unless there is no such availability at the moment of booking. Furthermore it happens that availability can change even one or two days before trip date. For example after a cancellation of a big group of people there would be many seats available which were not available during the moment that you made the booking.
Anyhow we are happy to hear that there were empty seats available so that you could simply sit together anyway.

website
Piraeus, Patmos, Rhodes, Kastellerizo, Kas in Turkey.
starstarstarstarstar
4 / 5 stars

on: 12-10-2017

Booking and ticket collection points absolutely fine. Just two comments - the free bus service from Piraeus to Dock E1 (furthest away from the entry gate at E7) either never materialised or was not obvious so I walked the one and a half kilometers in afternoon heat. Also had difficulty locating dock E1 . Secondly, there is no official Meis Express office to check in with on Kastellerizo, It turned out to be the guy actually on the waiting ferry.

Answer by Ferriesingreece
We are sorry that you did not find the free bus service on Piraeus port. Kindly note that the free bus has stops in every gate of Piraeus port and is available every 15-20 minutes when there are departures and could have taken you till Gate E1 as this is its last stop. All gates on Piraeus port are next to each other and there are big signs available in the entrance of each gate so it is normally quite easy to get around. Your departure was unfortunately from Gate E1 which is the furthest one from the centre (metro station) so we understand it could be tiring to walk all the distance.
We did not clearly understand what you meant by Meis Express office in Kastelorizo as we do not cooperate with that agency and therefore did not sent you there for tickets collection.

website
Good experience
starstarstarstarstar
5 / 5 stars

on: 09-10-2017

We used several ferry lines, Golden, Fast Ferries and Superjet. The booking experience was simple with no difficulties. It was a bit of a nuisance to pick up our tickets but once we found a ticket office they were very helpful. The agent in Fira was great and we found a great agent who printed our Fast Ferry and Golden tickets in Naxos. We found the ferries very comfortable. The two bigger ferries were great as we were able to sit outside and enjoy the views. There was more space to walk around but all of them were very comfortable. Superjet was delayed but they emailed us to let know that this was due to strong winds. Too bad we were already at the port, but at least we knew what was happening and were given an approximate ETA.

website
Just as descibed!!
starstarstarstarstar
5 / 5 stars

on: 09-10-2017

Ordered My tickets on line from America - Everything happened as described in their marketing. I had the tickets mailed to our home in America and they arrived via DHL as promised !!! Very good service - would use them again!!!

website
Ferry tickets
starstarstarstarstar
5 / 5 stars

on: 08-10-2017

Booked our return tickets on line from Skiathos to Alonnisos, a simple process, declined to have them sent to my home address because of the added cost, chose to pick them up in Skiathos, Found the ticket office opposite the port easily and collected the tickets. The Bobcat 4 was very smooth and quiet, We were advised by the locals as our departure from Alonnisos was nearing that very high winds had been predicted and our ferry might be cancelled, so erring on the side of caution we decided to sail back to Skiathos a day early. We were able to change our return ticket with no cost; the gentleman in the ticket office was very polite and courteous. P.S. The ferries did run on our original departure date. I will use their services again.

website
Quick and convenient
starstarstarstarstar
4 / 5 stars

on: 08-10-2017

We were traveling by ship from the port of Heraklion to Santorini. I bought tickets through the Internet in advance. True, I received a reservation form sent to the post office, where I already received a ticket at the box office in Heraklion. The vessel was modern and convenient. Baggage, in our case this is a suitcase, we left on the lower deck. The place for luggage is not specially equipped, so leave things at your own risk. On the ship there are several cafes where you can take coffee and pastries. And you can eat it all in its place, as the seats are equipped with folding tables.

website
Don't take ferries, take flights
starstarstarstarstar
1 / 5 stars

on: 05-10-2017

Recently got back from a trip in Greece and visited 3 different islands. We took 4 inter-island flights on Olympic Air and didn't experience a single delay or hiccup. We booked 1 ferry to go from Santorini-Naxos, and it was extremely disappointed. The boat left 2.5 hours late, burning precious vacation time during the middle of our day. The first delay was apparently scheduled beforehand (the departure was moved back from 12:25 to 1:15 pm), but I received no email or notification of this until after the fact. We left our hotel in Santorini way earlier than we needed to. When the boat didn't show up at 1:15 as scheduled, we kept going into the office to ask what time it would leave and all we were told was: "soon." We met another couple whose ferry from Mykonos to Santorini was also about 2 hours late. Never again. Will always take a flight to transfer islands if I ever come back

Answer by Ferriesingreece.com
We are sorry  that you faced a delay on your only booked ferry trip. We would like to inform you though, that not all the ferries are delayed and that most of the times they stick to their time schedule (and ferries are far more cheaper than flights). Usually delays happen when the weather is bad due to strong winds or when there is a technical issue.
Concerning your trip, we contacted Seajets to find out what happened and they informed us that there was on the specific date a delay due to technical problem faced during the same day that we could not have been informed of beforehand, and that you should contact them for more information and to check if possible discount can be made for the specific trip to info@seajets.gr providing them with the booking reference number for the specific trip.

website
Easy purchase, easy use
starstarstarstarstar
5 / 5 stars

on: 04-10-2017

I purchased the ticket online easily and just used a print, everything went easy and smooth. I was asked for my pasaport info by an e mail as i purchased an international ferry to Turkey, and the staff in Pireaus politely helped via e mail communication. Maybe it would be better if you obtain the pasaport knowledge on the site while selling international tickets, this way you would not need an e mail traffic. Anyhow i am pleased with the service.

Answer by Ferriesingreece
Thank you for your feedback. We will take your suggestion in consideration.

website
Took 5 Ferry Trips
starstarstarstarstar
3 / 5 stars

on: 03-10-2017

The ferry service website was not very good. Once booked and paid for, had to pick up tickets at ticket office. Should issue etickets. I had 5 different ferries to book on island hopping and had to do two separate reservations. Booked first class on all trips and was very disappointed. For a considerable amount of additional cost, saw no benefit to booking first class. Not even free beverages. The ferries are always late.

Answer by Ferriesingreece
Thank you for your feedback. Kindly note that our booking engine permits booking five separate trips in one booking order. Furthermore unfortunately e tickets are not available for the specific ferry company yet and thus the only option is to either pick up the tickets at a port kiosk or to be sent the tickets by courier.
We are really sorry that you did not like the “Club class” accommodation that you booked on your Seajets trips.
Kindly note that no free beverages are offered on this class and the only difference with the cheaper “Silver” accommodation is that you sit in a more comfortable and calm lounge.

website
Poor experience
starstarstarstarstar
1 / 5 stars

on: 03-10-2017

My group's experience using the ferries was poor. I'm both instance we had difficulty picking up the tickets prior to our departure. Our confirmation email suggested multiple locations we could pick up our tickets. In both instances the individuals working at those locations were not helpful and would tell us to pick up our tickets at a different location after waiting in line.
Our ferry from Naxos to Athens was delayed by 3 hours. Now the real problem with this is that we had to wait at the port in line in the afternoon sun with no information as to when it would arrive. No one kept us informed on the anticipated arrival time. You could not leave line to use the restroom or get food for fear that the ferry would arrive and leave without you. Once on the ferry we were taken to seats other than our own because there were already 4 passengers in our seats. Also, once on the ferry, we were notified that due to technical difficulties the (high speed) ferry had to travel at a slower speed than normal. All in all we got in 5 hours late

Answer by Ferriesingreece
Thank you for the feedback.
We can see you had booked two sets of tickets with us. For the first one with Hellenic Seaways from Thira to Naxos you were offered two options of where you are able to pick up the tickets one in Fira and one at the departure port. This was just to give you the option to pick up your prepaid tickets in Fira if you would like to and we are really sorry if the employee there was not helpful and suggested that you pick instead at the port kiosk. If this is what happened kindly let us know more information about the specific employee so that we can contact the ferry company and inform them about this attitude.
Concerning the delay of your second trip from Naxos to Athens we contacted Seajets who informed us that there was on the specific date a delay due to technical problem faced during the same day that we could not have been informed of beforehand, and that you should contact them for more information and to check if possible discount can be made for the specific trip to info@seajets.gr providing them with the booking reference number you had with Seajets.

website
Satsfied
starstarstarstarstar
4 / 5 stars

on: 02-10-2017

[Translated from french]
I am satisfied with the services of your different ferries. Great punctuality. We were informed of a change of boat by mail on time. Some suggestions, however, are: To issue e-tickets which would avoid running around to collect our tickets.

Answer by Ferriesingreece

E-tickets will be available on our website only for some companies, in a couple of months.

[Original text]
Je suis satisfaite des prestations de vos différents ferries. Grande ponctualité. Nous avons été informé d'un changement de bateau par mail en temps et en heure.  Quelques suggestions toutefois:  Emettre des e-billets ce qui éviterais de courrir un peu partout pou récupérer nos billets.

website
Pleasant experience
starstarstarstarstar
4 / 5 stars

on: 02-10-2017

Everything went smoothly. I bought tickets online (Piraeus — Santorini —Milos — Piraeus). This procedure is plain and simple. The only significant minus is bank fee. I can’t remember another transportation service (airplane, train, bus) where I had to overpay because the bank fee would be charged on the client. Plus e-tickets would be a lovely solution. Though it took me only a few minutes to receive my tickets at the kiosk. The only delay (over an hour) happened when we travelled to Santorini (I don’t know the reason, the weather was fine). In general, it’s a rather comfortable and convenient way to hop between islands. I would be happy and I hope I will be lucky to use this service again.

Answer by Ferriesingreece.com
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that all went smoothly.
Kindly note that bank fees and generally service fees are charged, as far as we know, not only on all Greek websites that offer ferry tickets but also on most international websites (if not on all) that offer online bookings for travel services. This is because for any transaction each company receives by credit card there are fees charged from the bank and furthermore there are many other administration costs that a company must bear in order to be able to provide the services that each user desires. We find it really strange that you have not noticed such bank fees charged before, but we assume that this is because most websites add all the expenses to a total “service fee” while we prefer to show clearly and analytically to the user what amount he is paying for bank fees, which for service fees and which for courier fees before he completes the payment.

website
Good experience
starstarstarstarstar
3 / 5 stars

on: 01-10-2017

Had a good experience booking and collecting our tickets. The ferries were comfortable except for our last ferry from Paros to Piraeus with Blue Star Paros, which seemed to cater more for people who booked a higher class. Not enough seats for everyone else and most had to sit outside on the smoking area for three hours.

website
An irreproachable service
starstarstarstarstar
5 / 5 stars

on: 30-09-2017

From Piraeus to Piraeus I made a round trip and visit 6 islands, all with ferries and Ferries in Greece booked all tickets with several companies, sent me the tickets quick to France and sent me a message on my mobile phone a few days before departure to say me that the ferry was canceled and I had to contact the company. a great service.

website
Great for Island Hopping
starstarstarstarstar
5 / 5 stars

on: 26-09-2017

We chose FerriesinGreece because we found their website to be the most user-friendly and helpful when planning our month long, island-hopping trip across the Cyclades. We booked 7 separate trips online and paid for the tickets to be printed and delivered to the UK by courier. Tickets arrived within a couple of days. We had a lovely holiday and every ferry was on schedule. Would definitely recommend this company

With our user-friendly online booking system, you can reserve your ferry tickets to Greece and the Greek islands. All payments are done through a secured server...

Become an affiliateDo you have a website about Greece and the Greek Islands? Become an affiliate and sell tickets online.


Are you a travel agent?We offer collaborations with travel agencies and offer ferry tickets at better rates.